Exploring the 2014 CBCA Short List


The Children’s Book Council of Australia

PETAA's first acknowledgment, as ever, is to the Children’s Book Council of Australia, and to the benefactors and major donors to the CBCA Awards Foundation, which make the awards possible, to both engage the community with literature for young Australians (as is the CBCA motto), and to allow PETAA, via its teacher members to imaginatively extend and build on that engagement in the classrooms of the nation.

The writers of units of work

PETAA thanks the writers in advance, who by 15 June have worked long and hard to create the units of work. Their classroom expertise and professionalism in knowing what works for teachers, while being highly relevant for students’ learning, will be highlighted within this resource.

  • Jennifer Asha: Picture Books
  • Helen Cozmescu: Younger Readers
  • Margo Daly: Older Readers
  • Sophie Honeybourne: Eve Pownall Award for Information Books
  • Amanda Nicholls: Early Childhood Books

Learn more about the writers of the units of work

The publishers

PETAA would like to acknowledge and thank the following publishers who have kindly provided complimentary copies of their 2014 shortlisted books in order for the PETAA authors to expedite their writing around the books for this teachers’ guide: Allen and Unwin; Freemantle Press; Giramondo; Hachette Australia; HarperCollins; Scholastic Australia; Little Hare Books, Hardie Grant Egmont; Pan Macmillan; Penguin Books Australia; Random House, Thames & Hudson; The Nerdy Book (self publishers); Walker Books Australia, Working Title Press and University of Queensland Press.

Project management

Units of work this year were reviewed by Penny Hutton and the guide was designed, edited and published online by Linden Hyatt, in providing ongoing digital publishing and strategic support to PETAA.

The PETAA Teachers’ Guide to the CBCA Book of the Year Awards

Exploring the 2014 CBCA Short List main page    |   Terms and conditions